Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner

Meshuggah - Columbus (Live - 2002)

Labels: , , , ,

Meshuggah is a Swedish five-piece experimental metal band formed in 1987. The band is comprised of founding members Jens Kidman and guitarist Fredrik Thordendal, drummer Tomas Haake (who joined in 1990), rhythm guitarist Mårten Hagström (who joined in 1994) and bassist Dick Lövgren (member since 2004).

Meshuggah first attracted international attention with the 1995 release Destroy Erase Improve for their fusion of death metal, thrash metal and progressive metal. On the album Chaosphere, released in 1998, the band used fast tempo death metal with Thordendal's typical free jazz-like solos. With their 2002 album Nothing, Meshuggah started to use eight-string guitars with two extra low strings and incorporate downtuned, slow, groovy riffs. In 2004 and 2005, Meshuggah experimented with one 21-minute song on the I EP and a "one song album" Catch Thirtythree separated into 13 sections. The latest album, obZen, was released in 2008.

They have become renowned for their complex, innovative and precise musicianship and songwriting, polyrhythmic song structures and technical prowess. Meshuggah have been labeled as one of the ten most important hard and heavy bands by Rolling Stone and as the most important band in metal by Alternative Press. Since its formation, Meshuggah has released six studio albums, five EPs and eight music videos. Nothing and the following albums charted on the Billboard 200. ObZen reached No. 59 and sold 11,400 copies in the first week and 50,000 copies six months after its release. In 2006, the band was nominated for a Swedish Grammy Award. Meshuggah have performed in various international festivals, including Ozzfest and Download, and are on a world tour in 2008. Your Ad Here


Post a Comment